News Flash


Posted on: December 22, 2021

Disaster Declaration: Apply for Assistance

Flood Recovery Update with picture of a sinkhole

FEMA has issued a disaster declaration for the flooding event of October 6, 2021. This declaration allows residents of Jefferson and Shelby Counties who were affected by the flood to apply for individual assistance. 
Here’s how to apply:
• Phone: 1-800-621-3362
• TTY 800-462-7585
• 711/Video Relay 800-621-3362
• Online:
The deadline to apply for individual assistance is Feb. 21, 2022.

The disaster declaration also makes low-interest disaster loans from the Small Business Administration available to homeowners, renters, and businesses. Interest rates are as low as 2.855 percent for businesses, percent for nonprofit organizations, and 1.563 percent for homeowners and renters, with terms up to 30 years. Loan amounts and terms are set by the SBA and are based on each applicant’s financial condition. 

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application (ELA) via SBA’s secure website at, and should apply under SBA declaration #17289, not for the COVID-19 incident. To be considered for all forms of disaster assistance, applicants should register online at or download the FEMA mobile app. If online or mobile access is unavailable, applicants should call the FEMA toll-free helpline at 800-621-3362. Those who use 711-Relay or Video Relay Services should call 800-621-3362. 

Businesses and individuals may also obtain information and loan applications by calling the SBA’s Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 (1-800-877-8339 for the deaf and hard-of-hearing) or emailing Loan applications can also be downloaded at Completed applications should be mailed to: U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, TX 76155. The filing deadline to return applications for physical property damage is Feb. 21, 2022. The deadline to return economic injury applications is Sept. 21, 2022.

Facebook Twitter Email

Other News in Home